May 29, 2013

  • It’s Not My Fault

    I am incredibly hard on myself, and that is putting it lightly.

    I’m very hard on myself because growing up people were very hard on me.

    I’ve been battling depression since I was about 10 years old. I was told that depression was a sin, it was my fault, and that I could control it. I grew up believing these things, which only added to my depression when I realized no, I can’t control this. It’s taken me almost 14 years to realize that that belief is just plain wacko, and a bunch of crock. I still feel guilty every morning when I take my medicine. “You’re a failure. You brought it on yourself, and now you’re helpless to get out of it.”

    When I was 18 I started having severe stomach/digestion problems. I was throwing up after every single meal, but I wasn’t forcing myself to, I just couldn’t help it. I kept going to the doctor for 3 years to figure out what was going on. The entire time I had people telling me it was all in my head, that I was really just bulimic and that I was using it as an excuse to get attention. The only person who believed me that I didn’t actually have body issues, and that it was something I couldn’t control was my primary care physician, and for that I am eternally grateful. After many painful and inconclusive tests, they finally did a stomach emptying scan.
    Turned out, my stomach is paralyzed. I was throwing up after every meal because my stomach does not “relax” to allow food in, and then “squeeze” it out. My stomach is stuck in a restricted state, and I can only eat very small portions of food at a time or else it can’t all fit in there and it comes back up. I’m an extremely rare case for gastroparesis, which is why it took so long to get the approval for that scan. Almost everyone else who has gastroparesis is morbidly obese and/or diabetic. At the time of my diagnosis diabetes had been ruled out and I weighed a whopping 88lbs.

    Then the sleeping problems. They became really bad the first few years of college. I remember spending my first semester constantly studying because I couldn’t sleep. The only time I could sleep was either in class, in the back of a moving vehicle (I paid more than a few friends to just drive me around town because it was the only way I could sleep). I slept on the floor of my parent’s computer room. I was averaging only 2-3 hours of sleep a night, and not all at one time. Then I started having trouble staying awake at all. I would sleep, and sleep, and sleep. Even after I slept the night through, I would still wake up exhausted and needing a nap not long after waking up.
    I was told I was lazy. I was told that I was just trying to get out of housework, school, or errands.
    Turns out I’m narcoleptic. It’s something I can’t control, and something that there isn’t a lot of medication out there for it yet. The only prescription they gave me was for a GHB to help me feel more awake during the day. I don’t need a stimulant to make me more hyperaware than I already am. I need something to help me feel rested. I feel that medication would be doing nothing but masking the symptoms, and considering it’s huge side effects (one of them being rendering hormonal birth control ineffective) it just doesn’t seem worth it.

    I haven’t been able to accept any of these things as stuff that I am not able to control. I haven’t been able to accept that some of these things, OTHER PEOPLE are going to need to work with me around them (especially the narcolepsy).
    Just yesterday Reid and I were talking about the things we needed to get done before we leave for the Shore. He left a list of things we need to do, and a list of the things we need to buy before we left. I came home last night and told him I would do what I could off his lists. When I got home, I was overwhelmingly tired, and absolutely had to lay down for a bit because I could not keep my eyes open for the life of me. When Reid texted me to tell me he was getting off work a few hours earlier than planned, I fully expected him to be angry at me for napping instead of doing anything to prepare for the trip. He was of course not the slightest bit angry or even annoyed. “This is something you can’t control, and that we have to work around, it’s totally fine. Nap whenever you feel like you have to. It’s not like it’s your choice.”

    I couldn’t love him more for that. But it did make me realize just how hard I am on myself. I go into everything with the mindset of, “How can *I* take care of myself/my partner all by myself.” I never go into anything thinking that someone else is going to be generous and help me out. If they do, that’s great, and I’ll love them all the more for it and be incredibly grateful, but I never enter into any situation expecting that kind of help. I approach everything as if I have to take care of it alone. Worst case scenario type of deal. Stressful, yes. Unneeded pressure, probably. But this is how I’ve survived for as long as I have.

    But maybe it’s time for me to adjust that way of thinking. I think that, at least when it comes to some areas, mainly just the health related ones, I should start expecting people to work with me more. Not all the time, but some of the time.
    At the very least, I want people to stop telling me every medical related thing that goes wrong is *my fault* and I should control it. So far, they have not been right a single time, and I have the medical records and enough missing organs to prove that.

    So here’s a polite, “Go screw yourself” to all those who told me that all of these ailments were things I just made up to get out of something/ get attention.

Comments (29)

  • This sounds like the story of my life. I have major sleep issues, much like you described but never once thought to get checked out. I also have stomach issues. I had to get a few biopsies done and it showed I have a bacteria the grows in my stomach when I get to stressed which causes a lot of throwing up and pain issues. I have been told that I am to young to be stessed and it is all in my head, it is infuriating. I am so glad Reid is super understanding about naps and stuff. People were hard on me my whole life as well so I understand why you have such high expectations for yourself. I really hope it gets better because I know how much it sucks and you deserve ao much better in life.

  • Reid is a keeper and so are you dear.  You’re AWESOME and that’s just the way it is!

    HUGZ

  • So is there anything the doctors could do about your paralyzed stomach or it is something you just have to live with?

  • @Super_Rob_of_the_Sky - There’s nothing that can be done about it, especially since mine is an especially rare case. Most people who have gastroparesis (the medical term) are all morbidly obese and diabetic. When I was diagnosed I was not diabetic and weighed a whopping 88lbs at the time. I just have to use portion control and eat slower than I would normally. I haven’t had issues with that in years now that I know what to do to work around it. Most people don’t even know I have it.

  • That’s terrible for them to treat you that way, but it says a lot about you that you have developed a healthy mindset!

  • @Jack_Hawksmoor - I’m not sure what that is supposed to mean…

  • I had a similar background concerning the attitudes about sleep, depression, etc.  Never had the kind of medical problems you talk about, but I understand the pressure that kind of attitude places on you.

  • @blonde_apocalypse - It’s really hard to accept that there are things that will have to be worked around after hearing my entire life that all of these things were essentially my fault. Either it was my fault because I wanted attention and made a scene (which anybody who really knew/knows me knows attention is the last thing I want) or it was my fault because I had unconfessed sin or some other crock like that. 

  • @Foodhog - I’m sorry you’ve gone through similar experiences! It really sucks. Makes you question everything, especially whether or not it IS all in your head since nobody will believe you.

    @olwd - HUGZ Thank you! I think he’s definitely a keeper. We both have our moments but even in those moments we still balance each other out nicely. I really couldn’t ask for a better partner.

  • So know what you mean dear!!!

  • Great post. Sad how those that are so non supportive can wreck long lasting havoc on us. Take care. 

  • I’m really not trying to turn this into a huge religious thing… but the part where you mentioned that you were told it was “sin” to be depressive… just.. UGH that makes me just sick about religion even more. What it does to people, what it causes people to do to others. 

    No, it’s not your fault, and indeed, screw anyone who can’t accept you for who you are. It’s not about working “with” you. You are who you are, and being around you shouldn’t be a chore at all, to the right people. 

  • @thegunslingergirl - Sorry about that. I should have typed in a complete sentence. What city do you live in?

  • Hmmm, yes odd they would censor “hard on” and not “vagina” in Dan’s genitals post.  LOL  Perhaps vagina is the “clean” way of saying pussy.  LOL  Ooopss!!!!

  • I’m glad you have a healthy perspective on the situation. I like to try to blame myself for things as a way of hoping I can gain some control over the situation; but it just makes me feel worse. So when I’m crying and freaking out and I see my girlfriend looking awkward and sad because I just can’t help it, I apologize, and she tells me it isn’t my fault. It makes me feel better, because it’s true.

  • Wow. You are really messed up. I have a whole plethora of psychological and physical problems, getting worse as I get older. Somehow though we manage. We try to make the best of the cards we have been dealt. Others, who haven’t experienced life’s severe difficulties can’t comprehend the challenges those with debilitating conditions face. I think a lot of problems are brought on by our own actions, but that doesn’t make them any less real. It helps when those closest to us are compassionate and understanding, and we too must be the same way with those who need our kindness.

  • @Aloysius_son – I don’t think I’m “messed up”. That’s actually sort of rude. But yes it’s nice to finally have supportive people.

  • @thegunslingergirl - I meant it in a nice way. I only say it because I share some of your afflictions. In college I only slept 2-3 hour a night most nights, and I have stomach problems too. It is messed up, but it could be worse. I didn’t mean to be rude.

  • Good for you hon. Being depressed is not your fault and it is not a sin. It happens. Don’t ever let jerks tell you anything. 

  • I think that’s a fairly common thing in this culture — to just assume, especially when a person has trouble at a young age, that she is exaggerating or lying.  I’ve heard that all my life, even after I’ve had doctors say, “Oh wow, you must really be in a lot of pain.”  I still struggle with knowing whether I’m being a hypochondriac or not and how much leeway to allow myself when my body isn’t up to snuff.
    I am glad that your are finally getting things diagnosed and that you have someone who is on your side in the fight.  Stay strong, Beautiful.

  • Life is a series of experiences , how you deal with it will define you,just don’t let others opinion of you define the person you are and will eventually become.

    Cherish every moment and enjoy the times you smile,it will stay with you in memories when you need it for a rainy day

  • that paralyzed stomach sounds a lot like some of the problems I’ve been having

  • @thegunslingergirl - Ah, gotcha.  I have issues with getting my food to fully go down sometimes, which makes it get “stuck” before hitting the stomach.  At that point I either have to wait until it goes down (which could take upwards of ten minutes that I can’t do anything else with) or induce vomiting.  So I too have to make sure I control my portions and eat slowly, which can be frustrating when I eat around people or am on a tight schedule.

  • @thegunslingergirl – Oh my goodness, I couldn’t agree more. It makes everyday life so frustrating.

  • it’s difficult for people to understand pain if they can’t “see” what’s wrong or measure it somehow.  I lived with basically body pain for years and they couldn’t find a reason and thought I was just imagining it . . . I just kept trying different doctors until one did a simple test and figured out what was going on, over 30 years ago, now it’s just the old injuries that hurt on a daily basis . . . LOL

  • The post and the comments are so relatable to me.  I’ve been depressed since a young age and have had back and stomach problems for years. But everyone kept telling me it was a phase. Then when I never grew out of that phase they thought I was just “milking it”; using it as an excuse or for attention. Yet I blame myself for EVERYTHING, taking far too much responsibility in almost every situation leading to intense guilt. I hate attention. If I could I would be a ghost so that no one would ever interact with me and I could never hurt them.  I just want to feel like my existence isn’t an arbitrarily painful burden on those around me.

  • @bad_actions_better_feelings - What you are describing is EVERYTHING I didn’t even begin to touch on in this post. I have an IMMENSE guilt complex because of how I was treated growing up. I question my own motive for every single thing I do. I am completely and utterly paranoid that I’m “just making up excuses” when I have to leave work early or not come in because I’m terribly sick (usually with contagious stuff too).
    I share your feelings exactly about wishing I could just be a ghost.
    And I’m so sorry but at this point I can’t say that “It Gets Better”, I am very much still right in the middle of sorting out these feelings and tyring to convince myself that it truly wasn’t my fault. And it really wasn’t and it’s NOT your fault at all. So I don’t know if it gets better, but I’m hoping it does. For me, and for you.
    Feel free to message me, I’m a really great listener, and it wouldn’t be a burden on me whatsoever. Best of luck, and remember, It’s NOT your fault either.

  • You’re amazing and I want to punch the people in the face who told you those things.  You deserve so much better than them and I’m so glad that you’re finding it.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *