April 16, 2013

  • Yesterday, our bathtub decided it didn’t want to stop spewing boiling hot water. I had to leave work around noon to come home and wait for the maintenance guys (the apartment wouldn’t even give me a rough estimate… and we still haven’t put all the papers in to have Scully so we didn’t want people in there without us there and her make a fuss and us get kicked out. We are going to put her papers in when we renew our lease next month just to make things easier, and to save up for security pet deposit).
    It was honestly nice to get out of the office for a bit. This past weekend was a bit of a mess and it was nice to have an extra day of downtime to process through all that.
    After maintenance came I went back to work to mow the office lawn. I was glad I could at least make up for some of the hours since the pay I get for mowing is different than what I get working normal office hours. Technically, I get paid 3.5x more an hour to mow than I do to sit here and surf the web and spot check discs.

    I had plans with a friend of Reid’s (“C” for those of you who read my protected posts). I swear she’s the most awesome person I’ve ever met and that makes me SUPER insecure (for reasons those on my protected list would know). She helped me dye my hair since we had talked about hair dye and stuff a few weeks prior and seemed very knowledgable about it. It was a lot of fun to just hang out and get to know each other better since we are umm… well we have a common interest let’s just put it that way. I have a feeling we could become really, really great friends, I just need to relax.

    Reid came home briefly yesterday on break and started making a list of things he needed to do on his day off (which is today). Up at the top was “taxes”. I had to break it to him that taxes were due yesterday, so he couldn’t put it off another day. He sat down to start to do them and became completely overwhelmed. He was so stressed he didn’t understand any of the questions. Finally, after doing everything else I could possibly do to help I asked him to just pull up his W-2 and let me finish doing his taxes.

    This makes the 3rd year in a row that I’ve done his taxes on Tax Day. This time he owes me the $400 I had to pay for his state taxes… I really should just remember to do his when I do mine.

    I haven’t been doing so well the past week or so. Depression is kicking my ass and I’m having a really hard time focusing on anything positive for any amount of time. It sucks worse being able to see the steep decline.
    But I’ll claw my way back up. I always do.
    Well, at least I try to anyways.

Comments (12)

  • I am glad you are making new friends and had fun dying your hair, it looks great. I hope you can pull yourself out of this rut you are in. Not much longer ti your much deserved and I am sure needed vacation.

  • Sorry you’re feeling so down dear.  Hope you can pull out of it soon.  BIG HUGZ!!!

  • I think it’s awesome that you are willing and able to help Reid with his taxes. You are all kinds of awesome. Still, I think he needs to not put it off so long so that you wind up under some unnecessary pressure. Plus, remind him that the April 15th deadline doesn’t apply if he doesn’t owe any taxes and is expecting a refund.

    On a completely unrelated note, I would love to go Paintballing with you.

  • @MyxlDove - Yeah, as tempted as I was to be mad and go all “mom” on him about doing things ahead of time I was quite glad to have that “knight in shining armor” moment. Nothing makes me feel better than when he tells me how much stress I’ve just helped take off of him.

  • I hope you and C do become friends. If she helped dye your hair and you like it, first good step.

    Sorry about the depression more so lately. You’re strong. You’ll make it!

  • i am depressed too.. let me know if you find a solution

  • Oh man that boiling hot water leak had to be a pain in the butt and also costs money on your electric bill.  

    Have a great rest of the week.

  • Did you use that ap at all?

  • @ShannSanctified - Yes! Thanks again for the tip. Right now the charts look like those earth quake Rictor scale thingies in the middle of an eartquake. Up down, up down.

  • @thegunslingergirl - Mine is pretty catiwompus as well.. 

  • Dear Friends, This is somewhat strange, but in this, the most beautiful time of the year, I often have more down than up days, My confession, I’m a grandmother, and I have suffered from depression, and if some of you want to hear about how environmental issues play a role in depression, then I recommend that you go to Amazon or Kindle, and get yourself a copy of, “Pinkhoneysuckle,” by Barbara Everett Heintz, for you will never forget it plus in May, it already has two radio shows and a television spot with the author, me…//Depression is so insidious, but why does it drop like a bomb now? I think that when we were younger, our minds kept endeavoring to move us to a better spot — at home, or some place within, and when you are older like me you knew life would change, familiar faces would disappear for a while, then as an adult, all of the sudden it was child entertainment time. An old Bill Cosby show I’ll always remember was about the joys of September and the kids going back to school, and I will never forget that program and the truth which it shared. For a few hours, one got to be human, maybe even slipping in a cuddle with one’s husband in my case.

    I cannot not take pharmaceuticals, for if I stop my anti-depression med, then a few days or weeks later, I am sobbing, feeling grief so overwhelming that I am ashamed of, for I have so many gifts. This makes me feel like a pathetic in-grate, and from there it sinks lower. Three days after one starts taking anti-depressants, one feels better, then in three months; we feel as if we have licked the horrible brain chemistry behind it, but then one day, you feel the old enemy creeping in.

    The truth is no one is happy all of the time, so sometimes those meds just are not able to deal with the fact we are more down than usual. Depression is a strange gift, for we are usually more creative during these times whether we are writers or artist or musicians, and that has remained true throughout history.

    I have no good suggestions other than that if it gets really bad, then call your physician, for you may need a new med, or in some cases an adjunct, but in most cases, if you can just get through about a three day period, the worst begins to wear off of the down days. I am not just saying all of this as a patient, but my background is health care, so I will only share what is true for me in hopes that you will benefit from it.

    Make something you can look forward to, such as a trip, shopping, going to a salon, or I used to like to plan parties, for going to so much trouble — I would forget about some of the things which were hurting me. I am now old enough to say that it is way harder when we are older to pull ourselves out of the dungeon of depression, so those of us who believe talk to God a lot more,  We pray for those who have less than we, for the sick, and for the wounded of heart.

    If you fall somewhat in this category, just remember to pray for yourself as well.  I used to think immediate happiness was a Graeters turtle Sunday, then the years saw the weight packing on.  I will end this by just saying that, if you have any tips; Lay them out for the rest of us, but the turtle Sundays left me over weight, and that breaks my heart, so I will just leave it at do something special for you, then do something for someone else, and the kindness you do may spread like a flame.  God bless you and keep you.  Walk toward the light of all that is from God and fear no Evil, for none of us are immune from darkness, but to do our best to live in the light and love of God seems to be our refuge.  How can I say that after The Boston Bombers or the Holocaust in Waco?  Evil is the horrible and ever present force a loving God endeavors to protect us from, but in the end of it — God are all of the people of Boston who came to help, those who build the memorials, give their all to the families, and stand before a pathetic congress to witness how their children died at Sandy Hook.  There is God, and God is the clothing, the warm blankets, the food, and the water on the fire which finally tamed the flames.  Evil is so merciless, while the gifts of God are beyond measure.  I can go on, no matter how much I have been hurt knowing these things.

    Thank you so much, Barbara Everett Heintz, Author of, “Pinkhoneysuckle,” on Amazon, Kindle, and Create Space and This Xanga Blog

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *