April 10, 2013

  • How has Xanga changed or impacted your life?

       

    I just answered this Featured Question; you can answer it too!

    I don’t do the “Question of the Day” often (actually, this might be like the second time I’ve answered it) but today’s question got me thinking. How has Xanga impacted my life?
    I believe being part of the community here has impacted my life greatly. I’ve been on and around this site now for around 9 years, 90% of that time I was mainly just a lurker. Last summer I actually made it a goal to interact more with the people on here. I would blog and read regularly, but very rarely ever comment. Shyness was to blame for that. I didn’t want to be that stranger who comes in and throws opinions around where they don’t belong or aren’t welcome, and sometimes people would write about things in their life or in general that I just didn’t feel like it was appropriate for me to comment. Then I realized this is the Internet and that’s what it’s there for; to interact with different people. To offer different opinions or views on a matter. To let people know they aren’t alone and that there is someone out there who will listen to them. To make people laugh. To make them think.

    After I made it a goal to interact with more people on here, I noticed a positive change in my crippling social anxiety. I would get so panicky that I didn’t visit other people’s blogs just to not leave footprints without comments to not seem like a creeper, but then after I started to visit and comment I noticed that when it came to things offline, I was much more confident in myself. I wasn’t actively worried about coming across weird or socially inept (I was home schooled my entire life, those things are to be expected) when I went out anymore. I attribute that mainly to how welcoming you all on here were towards me when I started to be more active in the community instead of hiding in my corner in the dark recesses of the Internet. If Internet peoples were okay with me, then maybe real life peoples would be okay with me too. After all, they aren’t subjected to my random thought dumps every day unlike Xangans.

    Now, I barely bat an eye when it comes to going out and doing things with other people. It gives me something to write about if anything. I can’t remember the last time I had a panic attack just because I was out in public. I don’t think that would be the case if it hadn’t been for Xanga. Cheesy? Probably, but it’s still true.

    So thank you to all of you who have ever taken the time to encourage me, make me feel welcome and safe in this community. Those who have made me laugh, those who have caused me to pause and think, those who reached out to me when I was down and offered an Internet shoulder to lean against and cry on, and especially those who always have a smile in their pocket to toss my way when I need one (you know who you are. Yes, I’m talking about you). Thank you.

    No really, THANK YOU.

Comments (18)

  • Oh sweetie, I am glad to hear that your confidence is growing. Social anxiety is tough to get over, and takes practice being in the real world too. My daughter used to have crippling anxiety (she still often does) and she used a journal. She would go out, experience something (good or bad) and come tell her faithful journal all about it. These experiences grew and eventually she began making real friends. She would share her “practice experiences” with both her journal and her friends until she became mostly anxiety free. She has bouts with it, she is sensitive and slightly paranoid, but can now recognize the difference between anxiety and an accurate account of the outside world. I am very proud of her, but I also know how much courage and strength it took for her to risk rejection, looking foolish or pathetic, or other negative feedback from the outside world. Hang in there, keep practicing, and you will conquer your worst fears. How many people can face their fears and overcome them? That alone is something to be very proud of.

  • A marvellous read.  

  • I’ll have to read later, but I can answer real quick.

    Xanga changed my life in that I get laid a lot more often now. Xanga chicks are easy.

    Ugh. “I get read a lot more often now. Xanga blogs are easy.” Damn auto-correct…

  • that’s great that Xanga has had that impact on you

  • this is awesome =]

  • That’s fantastic, I’m glad it’s helped you so much.

  • Xanga is for writers, and in that way it’s really had an effect on me.  It wasn’t until 2009 that I figured out how to write fiction.  After I did I really got encouragement from everyone here that stopped by and read.

    But it was Jen Riemann at Pallid Pen that really helped me write the second Dana novel, “Tenement”  early last year.  I’ll never forget being writer of the month for May 2012.  This is the first recognition I ever got for being a writer.

    Hope you continue to feel better about being around people.  

    Troy

  • Its good to hear that you found a way to overcome your social anxiety. We as a society have created barriers keeping people in their shell. Glad to hear you got out of yours.

  • Thank you for sharing this! I’m so so SO happy to read all the good things you shared! I need to Thank You for being such an amazing part of our “family” here on Xanga! So often you bring me joy, smiles, and food for thought! You are a dearheart, SweetPreciousOne!
    HUGS!!!

  • I loved reading this (: (: (:

  • Imagine how much better it must be to be deaf or mute in the last decade or so than at any point in human history – people text and tweet these days more than they talk to each other.  If you were deaf 50 years ago you would’ve been so isolated from virtually everyone else and would have to huddle together with every person you could find that knew sign language – now it probably barely qualifies as a handicap.

    Information technology kicks so much ass.

  • You expressed this beautifully, I think the core of this community is the best of all there is. Loved reading this , thank you!

  • I’m glad you’re on here, and appreciate all you have shared. I’m also happy this has been a largely positive experience for you. For me, it’s been a definite mixed bag, with some being the best of times, and unfortunately, other’s being the worst. I wish you well in your future blogging efforts. 

  • That’s really wonderful.

  • Good stuff and beautifully said.  I am happy you are here on Xanga with us.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *