March 25, 2013

  • New Name, New Outlook

    First off I want to thank everyone for all the minis and helping me get enough points to change my name!

    So goodbye forever_musing, and hello to thegunslingergirl.

    Why that name? Well, firstly for those who will inevitably ask, yes I have seen/read the anime/manga and I loved it. It’s a nickname that was also given to me a long time ago and I really liked it. As I have shared before, I’m not really a girly girl, if I were to share all my interests and likes and activities and nothing more about myself it would probably be assumed that I was male (I tried it once as an experiment and I was right haha). Anyways, I’ve always liked that kind of image in my head, the no-nonsense, tough, strong type of girl. That and I do have a special place in my heart for firearms (but no, I will not get into any discussions about gun control, and if anyone thinks this username has anything to do with any of that mess well, you’re laughably wrong).

    There’s also a lot going on in my life right now, and a lot of stuff coming up that I am just going to have to man up and deal with. I spent a great deal of last week just being a crying mess over it all. I whined. I complained (and many of you put up with it). But I’m done wasting my time dreading the inevitable. I can either let it get me down and render me useless, or I can step up to the task at hand and handle it the way it should be handled. I just have to accept that sometimes I’m not going to be strong enough, but I’ll be damned if I’m bested before I give it my all. I’ve been through so much in my short time on this planet, and I know I have a long ways to go before my journey is over. There will be times of joy, and there will be times of grief. There will be adventures, and there will be catastrophes. There will be memories I will hold on to forever as well as ones I will want to purge and never think of again.
    That’s life. But I won’t let it get me down without a fight.

    Because I’m the gunslinger girl.

Comments (32)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *