February 9, 2013

  • I’m Alive!

    Hey there everyone! Just thought I’d drop by for a second while I’m still awake before the next dose of pain killers kick in.
    I’ll go over quickly the week’s events.
    Tuesday night I had some pasta that did not sit well on my stomach and hurt me all the next day as well. Thursday I woke up a mess because I hadn’t eaten anything and was in a lot of pain. I called the surgeon to see if he had any appointment openings sooner than Wednesday 2/13, but they didn’t so they put me on a call-list in case they had a last minute cancellation. I called my GP after I got off the phone with the surgeon to ask him if he could prescribe me anything for the pain, the nurse who took the call went back and talked to my GP told me that he said to go straight to the ER. Reid’s brother came and took me to the ER. I ended up staying in the hospital overnight (Thurs-Fri) because the surgeon on call that night did not seem to want to make a decision on whether or not to take my gallbladder out or make me go through a few more tests (upper endoscopy, ultrasound, never mind the fact that I had already had one). The next morning the surgeon I was supposed to see next week came in, he was disgruntled that no one had told me I was there earlier that morning because he almost couldn’t fit me in. They ended up rushing me to the OR so he could do my procedure and not be too late to a meeting (otherwise I would have either had to go home and wait to come back or stay in the hospital another few days. It only took him about 20 minutes to remove my gallbladder. I woke up in ICU and for whatever reason just started to profusely apologize to the staff there. Reid said that did not surprise him at all and that it sounded exactly like something I would do! Ha!
    They discharged me the same day, which I was happy about. I felt amazingly well right after the surgery. The anesthesia didn’t leave me nauseated or anything and not long after I was able to drink and eat some of a clear liquid diet and keep that down with no problem (Wednesday night I could only stomach two small spoonfuls of rice and that made me extremely nauseated). After I was able to keep the liquids down they let me eat some low-fat solid foods. That settled well too. I was really amazed at how good I felt right after. I am really sore and can’t stand up or sit down without assistance but I honestly expected to feel much, much worse. I just feel like I’ve done a thousand too many ab crunches and it hurts like a mofo to laugh! I’ve been trying to watch sadder, more serious movies so as not to make myself laugh. I’m terrified of popping my internal stitches (my surgery was laporscopic and they only made 3 small incisions on my stomach). Hiccuping also hurts really badly.

    Now I’m at Reid’s house with his parents. Their house is much better situated than ours for my recovery, they even have a super comfy recliner I was able to get a good night’s sleep in last night.

    That’s about it I guess. Tomorrow I get to meet our puppy! We have pushed back our adoption time til after she is spayed so I can have a week-10 days to heal before bringing home another critter. I am so excited! I will post pics when I get them.

    Hope you all are having a great weekend! I know I am finally happy to be able to sit on the same couch as Reid and hold his hand some. It sounds terrible but we’re so happy we’ve gotten to spend this much time together the past few days, even if it’s under less than ideal circumstances. I guess that’s a good sign that we can be happy together no matter what is going on.

Comments (5)

  • I’m glad you’re doing so much better! I was worried! 

  • Glad you’re doing better! :)

  • Good to hear you’re doing better. Keep well and you’ll be with your new little pup soon! :)

  • Aw crap. Now I’m torn between making you laugh just to be a butthead, or being a good friend and not telling any jokes. I don’t know what to do, really. :p

    Here’s to a speedy recovery

  • my father in law had his gall bladder removed.. it didnt look like fun! but he seems to be able to eat like anyone else pretty much .. hope you can too.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *