January 10, 2013

  • Kidney Stone

    This morning I woke up to a text from R’s mom saying she was taking his dad to the emergency room. Turns out he had a kidney stone that was stuck in his right kidney and was completely blocking his right kidney up since the stone prevented urine from going to the bladder, and instead was pushing it back out to his system.
    He went in at 3 to get scoped and have the stone removed. They ended up using a laser to turn it into powder and  scoped the rest of his kidney to make sure there weren’t any more lurking around (and thankfully there wasn’t). This is especially good news because kidney stone problems tend to run in families, so as this appears to be an isolated incident, R is not likely to be at risk of  eventually getting them himself.

    After work, I went with R to the pharmacy to pick up his dad’s medicine before heading over to his parent’s house. R told me about how he got out of a shift at work last spring by saying he had a kidney stone.

    “Why?” I asked him.

    R: “Well, I kinda came up with that excuse on the spot since I was waiting to see who picked up the phone.”

    Me: “Who answered?”

    R:”Christian.”

    Me:”Oh, the gay one?”

    R:”Yeah, I figured out of all of them he was most likely to give me the day off if I said I had blood coming out of my penis.”

    Me:”You know, it almost scares me that you can be such a manipulative bastard and get away with it, but not really that scared because I got you down cold.”

    R:”You are just as bad as I am.”

    Me:”True. At least we don’t do it very often.”

    R:”I guess that what that says about us is that we have a very high charisma modifier, but we just don’t abuse that power.”

    Me:”This is why I love you.”

     

    R’s dad was asleep when we arrived at the house, which is a good thing because the pain from the stone had kept him up all night and many nights this past week. We ate dinner with his mom and then came home and started watching Dredd, again (R got it last night and we watched it 3 times, and again as soon as I got home this evening. It is now finishing play number 6. I LOVE this movie, as if you couldn’t already tell).

    Overall it’s been a dramatic but not really traumatic day (good thing). Gonna see if I can get a little bit of sleep tonight. 

    ‘night <3

Comments (8)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *